Intelligent Design

Today, I went to the dentist to remove a wisdom tooth, and it got me thinking. What is so intelligent with a wisdom tooth? It seems to me, most people have trouble with theirs, and when I asked the dentist, he said he’d pulled quite a few over his carreer.

Intelligent design is a form of creationism, where people believe there are a “grand designer”, or an “archicect”, or perhaps an “inventor” who has made everything. You know, god. This designer has made everything, from the stars in the sky, to the mountains, the animals, the plants, and of course the humans. No believer in intelligent design thinks the theory of evolution is right, as it – to them – clearly can’t have happened since everything is designed. A common thing you’ll hear from one of these if you say you believe in evolution is: “Well, was your grandmother an ape?” Well, no – humans evolved into homo sapiens over thousands of years – tens of thousands of years – so of course she wasn’t an ape, or a monkey.

Another thing they commonly state is that Darwin dismissed the theory of evolution on his death bed. The “Lady Hope Story”, published in 1915, claimed that Darwin had reverted to Christianity on his sickbed. The claims were repudiated by Darwin’s children and have been dismissed as false by historians.” (REF)

Anyway, I’m not writing about how the intelligent design guys try to ridicule the theory of evolution. I write this to ridicule the intelligen design theory. No, not really ridicule, but I wish to write a few things that I feel doesn’t compute with an intelligent designer. Wisdom teeth for once. There’s no point having a tooth (or four) growing wildly into your other teeth, so you have to pull it. If our mouth was designed by someone intelligent, the wisdom teeth would always come out right. Not to mention the enamel. Why isn’t it strong enough to withstand whatever we eat? Why do we get cavities?

“You get cavities because you eat stuff you’re not supposed to, like a lot of sugar!” Well, yes. That’s correct, but if the tooth were designed by someone really intelligent, why didn’t they think of sugar? Or that people chew on anything. I’ve seen people chew on metal nails, breaking their teeth. Why not make the enamel really strong? Diamond strong?

Another thing that makes me unable to believe in intelligent design is the vermiform appendix. You know, the little guy sitting in your guts, where you might get acute appendictis. Something that might kill you if you don’t treat it. I’m not a doctor, so I don’t have the exact numbers on how many people’s appenixes rupture, but I do know that when it does, you’re in a hurry to get surgery.

The intelligent designer should’ve also made my hair so it doesn’t fall off. I’m sure you know what I mean. I’m a guy getting closer to 40, and my hair is getting a lot thinner. I’ve also developed a blank spot on my scalp. If there was an intelligent designer, why did he put this crap in his design?

There are a lot more to this, but as I’ve pulled a wisdom tooth today, I’ll wait with the rest of my rant until I’m off painkillers. Have a great week!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

